Sign in to follow this  
Vontae8390

Computer Engineering

I want to get into the game industry as a game programmer. I want a computer engineer degree and NOT a computer science degree so that in case i do not like it i can switch jobs doing something else with computers. My question is how do i go about this. http://www.jsr.vccs.edu/curriculum/courses/EGR.htm Those are the engineering courses. DO i take all of them? Or just find a curriculum of computer engineering and only take the ones i need? I live in the commonwealth Virginia, and was planning on filling out financial aid and taking the courses i need , then probally my final year transfer to a university to finish up. Im kind of new at all this college stuff. Its not like i can just pick a major like in a university and i know all the courses i need lol. By the way i graduated high school and i am 18 years of age. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Quote:

I want a computer engineer degree and NOT a computer science degree so that in case i do not like it i can switch jobs doing something else with computers.

Huh? Do you mean you want a Computer Engineering/Science degree and NOT a Game Development degree?

Quote:

Those are the engineering courses. DO i take all of them?

No. You'll only take a selection of those depending on the engineering program.

Quote:
Or just find a curriculum of computer engineering and only take the ones i need?

First you need to find some colleges that you're able to attend and then look into their Computer Engineering/Science programs. Pick a couple schools you like and apply. If you're accepted into the college and into the Computer Engineering/Science major, you'll probably only end up taking some of those, perhaps depending on a particular focus within the major.