else:
             errors = errors + 1
             print errors, secret, lettersGuessed, others, subproblem
         countErrors(secret, others, errors)
    return errors        

secret = "guinness"
lettersGuessed = "pnitwzg"
errors = 0
x = countErrors(secret, lettersGuessed, errors)
print x
Here's what it outputs: 0 guinness pnitwzg pnitwz g 1 guinness pnitwz pnitw z 2 guinness pnitw pnit w 3 guinness pnit pni t 3 guinness pni pn i 3 guinness pn p n 4 guinness p p 0 I'm pretty new at this, but this just doesn't seem to make any sense. It does exactly what I want it to, except instead of returning 4, it returns 0. The indentations are correct, I assure you, I just can seem to format it correctly here, so sorry about that. [Edited by - Gixugif on November 12, 2008 3:10:56 AM]
Advertisement
You don't assign the result of the recursive function calls anywhere, so the correct value of error only exists as you go deeper into recursion.

BTW, with Python it is mandatory to use code tags, and what's with all the adding 0?
Also you can shorten:
lettersGuessed[len(lettersGuessed)-1] to lettersGuessed[-1]
lettersGuessed[0:len(lettersGuessed)-1] to lettersGuessed[0:-1]
Wow, I knew it'd be something obvious like that. It was bugging the hell out of me. Anyway, thanks for the help.
Surround your code with [code] or [source] tags to preserve the formatting. :)

Visitor already pointed out your problem, but I'd like to make a few more comments: instead of doing a = b[0:len(b)-1], simply do a = b[0:-1]. Negative indexes simply count from the end of a list. Likewise, c[len(c)-1] does the same as c[-1].

Also, errors = errors + 1 is the same as errors += 1 and errors = errors + 0 can simply be left out.

However, there is no need for recursion here. You want to see how many characters that were entered are not in the secret string, right? How about the following:
errors = 0for letter in lettersGuessed:    if letter not in secret:        errors += 1print errors