Sign in to follow this  
Domn

Programming in game design

Hey everyone im still very new to programming. Im still reading and trying to learn the basics to c++. I was wondering what parts of the game are actually programming. When i look around the internet i see free sound, world editors, ect. What parts of the game are actually programming?

The parts that actually play the sound, that load the levels into memory, that display them, that handle the user input, that run the logic behind the players, the enemies, the items, and so on.

So don't worry, there's plenty of work to do. :)

Technically all of it is, save sound composition and image creation. These world editors you are finding are just tools people have made to ease certain areas.

There is certain parts that you dont want to have to deal with, specifically the low end driver stuff for graphics card support, and for those there is DirectX (for windows) and OpenGL (works for everything) which helps take care of that. But in the end, you still need write code to make these things work.

The best way to think of it, well, for me anyways, is that you have to take an idea for a game, and break it down into little bits, that you will eventually know how to program. Like a tilemap. What is a tilemap? Its just a grid of tiles right? Once you figure out how to programmatically represent a tile, you just make a grid of them, and you have yourself a tilemap.

These world editors each poop out a map in a certain way, and in using them, you need to learn it, and work with it. If you do it yourself, and make your own editor, you can do whatever you want.

But if your new, especially to C++ (its generally considered quite tricky to get down, some would say dont bother, I just warn it might take a bunch of time) you shouldnt be worried with much of this stuff yet anyway. Its best to start simple, really simple.