Sign in to follow this  
zyrolasting

MP3s in C++ **SOLVED**

Alright, I looked into libraries like FMod, but the price and legal information had me actually screaming. I would like to know how to implement .MP3s for my DirectX games, but I think I should dumb down the API fixation and see if I can do it in C++. I imagine a .DLL has to come in, but I have zero knowledge in the subject. That is, of DLLs, and anything related to sound. The only thing I know about DLLs is that there are different calling methods, and with sound... I can hear it. I am really a blank slate to this, and I do not want to be paying, what was it, 3 grand for an FMOD license or conforming to any license standards except my own. Besides, I need the practice. Is there novice reading out there? I don't even know what to look for, even on Google. I have the worst luck of finding stuff that loses me on Google. [Edited by - zyrolasting on November 15, 2008 10:15:52 PM]

Quote:
Original post by zyrolasting
Alright, I looked into libraries like FMod, but the price and legal information had me actually screaming.

I would like to know how to implement .MP3s for my DirectX games, but I think I should dumb down the API fixation and see if I can do it in C++.
I imagine a .DLL has to come in, but I have zero knowledge in the subject.
That is, of DLLs, and anything related to sound. The only thing I know about DLLs is that there are different calling methods, and with sound... I can hear it.

I am really a blank slate to this, and I do not want to be paying, what was it, 3 grand for an FMOD license or conforming to any license standards except my own. Besides, I need the practice. Is there novice reading out there? I don't even know what to look for, even on Google. I have the worst luck of finding stuff that loses me on Google.
Do you really need MP3? If you're using DirectX, I believe you can use DirectShow, since that uses the MP3 decoder that comes with the OS.