Sign in to follow this  

World Saving

This topic is 3316 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi All - In the case of developing a WYSIWYG world tool in C#/XNA that allows for terrain editing, texturing, object placing, and possibly some scripting - how does the process of storing that world work? I'm an application programmer for a living but I've always loved graphics and I have experimented with implementing these features in code but I have never looked into how to actually store the world in a file so there is some form of persistence in world editing. Can anyone direct me to a few algorithms or techniques that would allow me to experiment with this?

I'm writing something similar at the moment, also in C#/XNA.

(Well, in theory anyway. I don't have time to fully flesh out the editor part of this at the moment, so I'm designing the rest of my game to take account of the fact that the data will eventually be coming from an editor.)

One way to go, is to serialize the editor representation of the world as XML, and write a custom XNA pipeline extension to handle the conversion of the XML level data, to a format more suited for your game.

.NET has great support for XML, and the fact that XML is human readable, makes it really easy to create test data, or create simple test levels before the editor functionality is complete.

Would XML saving/loading be slow with the amount of data possibly contained in a world file? XML seems a little messy for this type of operation... however, if XML is the way to go in a case like this that is what I will implement. Does anyone else have any ideas for some alternatives? Otherwise I will certainly look into using XML.