Sign in to follow this  

I am too old to become a game programmer?

This topic is 3315 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am a software developer and I focus on database applications, however, I'm getting tired of programming in a field that I don't like very much. When I was in university I did some mini 2d games on my delphi course and I remember I was really exited programming those games, I felt like I could go on and on and on. However, when I graduated I had to work for some years doing database applications to pay a lot of debts. Right now I feel like I wasting my potential in that area. I looked into the game institute website and their courses seem very interesting and fun. Next year on january I'll be 32 years old and I'll have enough money to take their Foundation Studies Package, however I don't know about videogame companies and their policies. Do they hire only young programmers or age doesn't matter for them as long as you can be an efficient programmer?

Why would age be any factor whatsoever in hiring? My company is generally younger guys, but we've got a few old farts [wink]. Finding good programmers is difficult enough, why would anyone want to limit their potential pool of employees by judging them due to their age?

Dont worry, youll be fine. For example, Martin O'Donnell from bungie is older from 32 and hes legendary in the music department. Anyways, the only time they really hire by age is when they hire game testers.

I wish you luck!

Avery

To quote superpig: "It's only too late once you're dead."

I think a lot of people worry about being too old to do game programming whereas I think a lot of people should be worrying if they are too young to start game programming [wink]

Here's my perspective on the advantages of starting in different age brackets go as follows: