• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
gabrielefarina

OpenGL High Quality realtime rendering

This topic is 3669 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys, as you can see I'm new to Gamedev, so hello to everyone. I've a question for you: I use to program simple games using OpenGL about 8 years ago. Then I unfortunately moved to a different job and I didn't follow too much the growth of the technology. I'd like to go back to gamedev building a really simple viewer for the models my borther is making in Max. I'd like to display them at the best resolution possible ... those models right now are not animated and rappresent simple objects (say pens, books, etc). They have high quality textures and materials, and a lot of polygons. The problem is that right now I've no idea about which is a good resolution that might be achieved using simple 3D rendering techniques and a decent hardware ... I saw some examples but they where quite all game engines, that usually include a lot of additional stuff (AI, etc) that require them to reserve some calculation time and sometimes lower the quality of the rendering. I saw that even if with high antialiasing, you cannot achieve a result that is near to the one you can obatin with raytracing a simple object with a simple material. Also the trasparency (ie: transparent pen tubes) cannot be rendered correctly as I see ... I'd like someone of you to give me some infos about high quality realtime rendering ... articles, images, demos, book, suggestions ... whatever Thanks [Edited by - gabrielefarina on November 24, 2008 3:57:02 AM]

Advertisement