• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
bryanedds

OpenGL Having trouble with OpenGL matrices...

This topic is 3670 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all, I just started learning some OpenGL coming from XNA. I'm trying to get my Matrix struct to be aligned how glLoadMatrixf expects. Here's the relevant parts -
	struct Matrix
	{
		float
			M11, M12, M13, M14,
			M21, M22, M23, M24,
			M31, M32, M33, M34,
			M41, M42, M43, M44;

operator float*();
	};
I know that the fields are supposed to be in column-major order, but I'm not sure if this particular order is column-major or not. I think it's not, but when I transpose them, my rendering no longer works. Additionally, I'm not sure if I'm pushing the model, view, and projection matrices in the proper order while rendering. It works when I use glTranslatef, but not when I push my own world matrix instead. Here's my current attempt -
	glPushMatrix();
	{
		glLoadMatrixf(camera.GetView());
		glPushMatrix();
		{
			glLoadMatrixf(camera.GetProjection());
			glPushMatrix();
			{
				glTranslatef(0, 0, -10);
				// render sphere - works, but probably shouldn't!

glLoadMatrix(sphere.GetWorld());
				// render sphere - doesn't work...
			}
			glPopMatrix();
		}
		glPopMatrix();
	}
	glPopMatrix();
This seems to work, but like I said, when I try transposing the Matrix so that it's seemingly in column-major order, everything breaks down. Anyone have any clues as to what all is going wrong here? Thanks!

Advertisement
I suspect you want to use glMultMatrix instead of glLoadMatrix.
You also don't need to use glPushMatrix unless you want to "rewind" the stack to a previous state.

Ok, I have things reformed to what I believe was the suggestion.

Here is a snipped of my current Matrix code -

struct Matrix
{
operator float*();

float
M11, M21, M31, M41,
M12, M22, M32, M42,