Sign in to follow this  
hspirdal

[Not game related]Are these solutions correct?

hspirdal    218
Hi, being a Norwegian student, I'm not sure if the math terms I show is what international readers would expect, but I think it's pretty much readable, except maybe some constant letters may differ.. Anyhow, I would be grateful if anyone could take a quick look and see if my solutions are correct. I know this forum, is mostly for game related stuff, but people here are usually very helpful in general. Ex1) The curve, the x-axis and the y-axis and the line x = 1 delimits an area in the first quadrant. Calculate the exact volume of the body(wrong term?)appearing when it rotates 360 degrees around the x-axis. Solution: Ex2) Solution: Ex3) Solution: Even if one of these only get confirmed due to lack of time or whatever, I'd be very grateful! I'm sorry if I overstep some forum-rules by posting non-game related math questions.

smc    292
If you plan on formatting or writing mathematical papers in the future the I highly recommend you use TeX/LaTex. btw... your math is readable.

Edit... Second Edit

1. I get the same result with mathematica

3. Mathematica gives me -(8/5)Log(3/2)

alex_myrpg    351
Hi,

I'll be glad to give you some hints as to your mistakes (no answers though).

1) Simple arithmetic error in evaluation.

2) Looks correct.

3) Keep your modulus signs.

Hopefully you should see the problems immediately now. :)

hspirdal    218
Thank you both for showing interest and helping, it is very much appreciated!

Fingon:
Thanks for spotting that error in ex1, the resulting volume should be 4Pi if I'm not terribly mistaken.
I'm not exactly sure what you mean by modulus sign, but I think you mean that LN(a) is always measured as an absolute value and therefor a ln(-2) would be evaluated as ln(2) instead. Is this true for imaginary calculations as well?

Anyhow, here's my updated Exercise 3:

Thanks guys, and good night!

grhodes_at_work    1385
All,