• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Dunge

Adding content to engine

This topic is 3611 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm pretty happy with everything I coded so far in my engine. Nice light and shadows, physics, particles, etc. I can load some models (un-animated 3ds files only for now) but the only ones I have currently is a sphere and a box cause that's the only thing I can manage to create in 3D. I'm a programmer, not a modeler nor an artist. I know you usually don't do that alone, even less when you are not good at it, but with the thousands and thousands of models and miles of geometry in today's video games, I think it could be possible to create something which look great anyway couldn't I? You know, a single beautiful scene instead of a whole city. I just want a simple room filled with objects, or a kind of forest/swamp scene to actually see my engine displaying something who don't look like crap. I know I can use Maya or 3DSMax to model, but I think it would take me months to create a single object with no knowledge, and I don't want to become a professional modeler neither since I'm a 3D programmer already. What do you think? Should I learn and do it anyway? Should I try to find someone already good at it to work for me for free? Should I download free models already available on the internet (only ones I found are from turbosquid and they suck, and are not optimized for games). Should I steal models from an existing commercial game and never publish mine (not as if I was planning to publish anything anyway)? [Edited by - Dunge on November 26, 2008 2:50:41 PM]

Advertisement
I am a programmer mainly but worked as a modeler in the games industry for and internship last year. I can model pretty quickly and well but when coding its just too much time for me and I prefer to work on code.