• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
67rtyus

Optimizing for the vertex cache and multiple vertex pipelines

This topic is 3664 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I am studying on improving performance by optimizing indexed triangle lists for the vertex cache use. The algorithms I found on the internet assume that a vertex list is processed just by a single vertex shader, or processor; one vertex at a time. For example we have the vertex buffer: v0,v1,v2,v3,v4,v5 And the index buffer: 0,1,2,1,2,3,2,3,4,3,4,5 According to those algorithms, the vertices 0,1,2 then again 1,2 and then 3 and so on will get processed by a single vertex shader, in the order they appear in the index buffer.If a vertex is already in the cache, it won't get shaded.If it is not,it is shaded and added to the cache. This works fine for a single vertex shader(or pipeline;everyone seems to use different words those things that does the T&L job) But in reality, today's graphic cards have multiple shader units and the vertices get shaded in parallel. Well, considering the huge amount of parallel processing done in the GPU, how is the vertex cache used? I mean, if there are 8 vertex shaders running in parallel, for the example buffers above the vertices 0-1-2-1-2-3-2-3 are processed at the same time and a vertex gets shaded redundantly.So the cache becomes simply useless. Now, what is the real situation here? How does the cache handle the parallel processing of the vertices? Thanks in advance

Advertisement
I don't think you need to worry about the number of vertex shader units.

If you have 1 unit pulling off vertices 0,1,2,3 the cache will perform well

If you have 4 units pulling off the same 4 vertices in parallel, well, that's no different to the vertex cache.