• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
gangadhar

OpenGL blur a texture using accumulation buffer

This topic is 3614 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there, I am new to opengl and working on "Blurring a texture using accumulation buffer". I need your help in doing the same. I have the following piece of code to display the BMP image: glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D); //enable texture after RTT glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, conic_texture); //the texture RTT'ed glBegin(GL_QUADS); glTexCoord3f (0, 1, -1); glVertex3f (-1, -1, -1); glTexCoord3f (0, 0, -1); glVertex3f (-1,1 , -1); glTexCoord3f (1, 0, -1); glVertex3f (1, 1, -1); glTexCoord3f (1, 1, -1); glVertex3f (1, -1, -1); glEnd(); I understand that using LoadBMP(filename) i can get the texture data. i.e: AUX_RGBImageRec *TextureImage = NULL; if (TextureImage=LoadBMP(path)) { Status = TRUE; glGenTextures(1, &texture); glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture); glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER,GL_LINEAR); glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D,GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER,GL_LINEAR); gluBuild2DMipmaps(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 3, TextureImage->sizeX - 1, TextureImage->sizeY, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, TextureImage->data); } So we have texture data in TextureImage->data. Now how should i blur this data using accumulation buffer? Your help is really appreciated. Thanks Gangadhar

Advertisement
The accumulation buffer is simple enough, renders x times, transport all x times the colorbuffer with a factor 1/x to the acummbuffer, when done return the accum buffer (set to colorbuffer), which now contains the x images blended together equally.
more fancy methods of blurring are of course up to you.
Just look up the related calls relating to glAccum, and you see that its not even a handfull.

Hi Kincaid