• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
KuroKitten

Building my Own Engine. Where to start!

This topic is 3665 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm currently in my second year of college, and I've been in and out of the programming scene ever since the 7th grade. I've always loved programming, and I'll go through bouts of being really obsessed with learning the next thing, and then just not programming for months on end. I recently decided that I would like to start a big project: The creation of a game. I'm unsure at this point exactly what the game will be - but I figure that if I put some effort toward it every day, by the end of the whole thing, I'll have learned an immense amount of knew programming knowledge, have something to add to my resume, and it'll give me motivation to program each and every day. My knowledge of programming is both random, and thin, to say the least. I have experience with Direct X, OpenGL, SDL, C and C++, Java, D, Python, PHP, Html, Various scripting languages, the OOP paradigm, some basics of good game design, etc. etc. All of which are just very surface level understandings (with the deepest being C and C++). What I would like to do, is to get a little bit of direction in which areas I should focus on, as well as the best place to get started. My initial thoughts were that it might be best to spend most of my time for the next year or so, working on my own Game Engine; however, I also know that this can be a very grueling task. Should I create my own engine, or just find a good open source one and just begin working on the game development aspect of things? And if I do create my own engine, where is the best place to get started? Also, if anyone has any suggestions of great books to read, or good sites to visit, I would greatly appreciate that as well. In essence, I'm a student who has always