• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
thisisashan

Howdy

This topic is 3610 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Has been a while since i've been a part of the dev community (bout 2 years) so while i'm not a beginner, I am having to start a lot of my work over again, which is half the fun. Mostly i have a few questions. I am working on a 3d game, with a static camera position, and am wishing to do the game for windows and a port later for phones using eclipse dev ide. Right now, my biggest questions are as follows. 1. Has the XNA programming library improved any? Is the importing of 3d models still set in stone during compile time? 2. Can i use managed C# (w/ xna lib), and use C++ in the form of DLLs without much loss of speed, or am i looking at losing a bunch of speed simply from using C# as the root language to simplify things? (I was also wanting to use C# for its interaction w/ the web... is C++ on key with C# as far as web access/control goes nowadays?) 3. Does anyone know some good tutorials on basic 3d to get me started again, esp. as far as the basics. The camera angle will be static, so it doesn't have to get very complex into camera position. 4. I was thinking that maybe I should look into getting some 2d tutorials to get started back into the game, does anyone know a good place for me to find some relavent to my situation? (xna/C#). Some background on my programming might help you guys. I have been programming in C++ on and off for 7-8 years now, C# about 2 years, and have made several games in old dos C++ using DJGPP and the Allegro library tools. I have a background in other languages too (cobol, basic, vb, .NET, jcl, etc) but they're not as applicable in this situation. Its always been for hobby though (with the exception of cobol/jcl). So I never went past the several C++ books i've read and into anything extre