• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
grill8

Quick questions about DirectX 9 shaders.

This topic is 3665 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I have a couple of quick questions about DirectX 9 shaders. I am fairly new to shaders so I do not know what version I need or may need but I plan on developing for DirectX 9. Ok, so here is the scenario ... I have a script that determines a bunch of information about the terrain in my application. One of the script entries (BlockResolution) determines the resolution (in x/z) of each terrain block. The terrain is rendered in batches (blocks) using a vertex shader that needs access to an array of floats [BlockResolution][BlockResolution] in dimension, passed to the shader for each batch. I cannot pass the values in the vertices themselves because each vertex needs access to all the values (not just its own). It is my understanding that I cannot pass by ** (or even *) because that simply cannot be done in shaders. I could have an array of floats that is fixed in size yes ... but ... I do not want to have to change the shader if I change BlockResolution in the script. I would like to be able to change the script without having to change anything else. It just is more neat/tidy that way. So that leaves me with a couple of questions ... QUESTION 1) Can I even have a 2d array of floats in a DirectX shader? Yes, I could have a 1d array of floats and pass a row size, but is a 2d float array even ok? QUESTION 2) How do I pass an arbitrarily sized array (1d or 2d) of floats to a DirectX 9 vertex shader, or does the size have to be known when the shader is compiled? Thank you for your help. Jeremy

Advertisement