• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
SuperJman

Steps to 3D programming?

This topic is 3611 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am new to the whole game development scene as well as the programming one. I have had little experience prior to this post, mainly web-based work with php/msql and a general knowledge of programming syntax. I just have a quick or possibly not so quick question for you today. I was wondering, what kind of programming experience does it take to make a basic 3d FPS and are there any specific paths I should take to get their? My plan so far is to learn basic c++(Already accomplished), and write some basic programs like a calculator. Then get to learning a graphics API such as direct3D which I can use for making 2d games. After finishing some simple 2d programs like pong and tetris I then might have the skill required for 3d programming. Starting to program in 3D is when me and a couple of friends will meet up hopefully ready to get this thing on. Out goal is to program a basic 3d FPS using this library: - Crystal Space (3d real time SDK, if you have not heard of it.) Then to top it off our final goal would be to network the game with something like Winsock etc. In conjunction with my main question, is this path wise? maybe direct3d would be bad to learn or maybe their is some fatal flaw in my learning plan. Anyways do you think I could pull this off working on c++ (and other vital skills) 1-2 hours a night and be "3D ready" by the summer or is that over ambitious? Regardless my Game developer training has started, "hello world"! Thanks for any reply's, I know its one of the more boring topics out their but everyone needs to start someplace. ~SuperJman

Advertisement