• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
zhyla

OpenGL Black cracks in my object... need a hint

This topic is 3661 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Below is a 16-sided cylinder-ish object that is supposed to look like a missile. It is rendered using OpenGL ES on an iphone. It isn't textured or anything (yet). I don't really understand what is causing black cracks. Below is what I'm using to draw it. The data is an export from Blender. I've tried with and without normals and both GL_FLAT and GL_SMOOTH. Am I missing something? Is the order that the vertices are fed into the vertex engine important? This is my first try at displaying anything more complicated than a cube.
    GLfloat normals[4*3];
    GLfloat vertices[4*3];
    glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH);
    // Face 0
    normals[0] = 0.923856f;
    normals[1] = 0.382672f;
    normals[2] = 0.000000f;
    vertices[0] = 0.923880f;
    vertices[1] = 0.382683f;
    vertices[2] = 0.000000f;
    normals[3] = 0.707083f;
    normals[4] = -0.707083f;
    normals[5] = 0.000000f;
    vertices[3] = 0.707107f;
    vertices[4] = 0.707107f;
    vertices[5] = 0.000000f;
    normals[6] = 0.707083f;
    normals[7] = -0.707083f;
    normals[8] = 0.000000f;
    vertices[6] = 0.707107f;
    vertices[7] = 0.707107f;
    vertices[8] = 5.000000f;
    normals[9] = 0.919797f;
    normals[10] = 0.380993f;
    normals[11] = 0.093539f;
    vertices[9] = 0.923880f;
    vertices[10] = 0.382683f;
    vertices[11] = 5.000000f;
    glNormalPointer(GL_FLOAT, 0, normals);
    glVertexPointer(3, GL_FLOAT, 0, vertices);
    glEnableClientState(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY);
    glDrawArrays(GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, 0, 4);
    // Face 1

Advertisement
It looks to me like some missing polygons rather than an artifact. A larger, closer screenshot might help.