• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
tokaplan

Lua hesitations

This topic is 3668 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone, I'm new to scripting, so I've been doing some pondering lately. SWIG seems to work just fine as a bridge between C++ and Lua, so I'm seriously considering writing the whole business logic in Lua. The way I see it, there are two major advantages of using a script in this context: - you don't have to recompile and rerun project to see result!!! - you don't have to expose the source of the engine to everyone involved in development. But when I imagine implementing the ENTIRE business logic code in Lua, I get a little scared, since - there's no syntax highlighting, so I have to browse through C++ class definitions to remember the name of the method I'm about to call!!! - there's no decent debugging of Lua script - there's no way to dereference a pointer to C++ type, so certain steps are necessary to avoid such situations - manual instantiation of every template implementation is a little tiresome I don't really care for the last two, but the first two points I've mentioned bother me a lot. So I though maybe some of you more experienced developers could share your thoughts on this. There's probably a lot I don't know. Thank you

Advertisement
Lua strength are these:

-small footprint (~200k for VM, built GC etc.. )
-speed both interpreted and just in time compiled versions
-flexibility (easy to program in pure OO, functional or a mix, duck typing etc..)
-embedded nature ( designed to be integrated into applications )
-easy to sandbox ( can override unsafe functions in C code itself, due to its small and simple implementation )

Weakness in my opinion :

-lack of 3rd party support for debugging and IDEs