• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
yepp_85

networking in a java-game???

This topic is 3608 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, Im new to game-programing and i wanted to learn so I have been trying to make my own bomberman. It wasnt to hard. I created a class that takes care of all the logic like canIMoveThere, isThereABombInFrontOfMe, and so on... and i created a player-class the takes care of the player like playerPos, playerNumberOfBombs and so on... I should also mention that the game is written i Java. Everything is working just fine but now i want to add networking to the game.. So my plan is that one player starts a server on his computer and a friend connects over TCP. The network communication was easy to set up in java and the sever and client has no problem sending data back and fourth my big question is: what should i be sending between the server and client. should the server be in charge of all the logics in the game and just send an image of the game back to the client so the client can draw that on his screen. or should the client send his key-presses to the server and the server send all his key-presses to the client. This means that they both takes care of the game-logic. Ive tried doing this but its not working any good. Does anyone have a good idea have to solve this? is there some standard way of communicating between server-client in a game? //thanks in advance

Advertisement
Greetings

The logic should be handled by both "clients" themselves. The data send should be the commands that define what logic to render to the screen. It is just a question of data amount and therefore speed.