[web] Web "Libraries"

Started by
5 comments, last by acidwillburnyou 15 years, 4 months ago
I have very little experience with web development, so my question might be a bit naive. Basically, I have developed an algorithm that several potential clients would like to try out. I see two possible roads to go down: the first is the provide them with trial software that would 'expire'. I don't like this for two reasons: first, I have no experience in this field. Second, I want to keep the algorithm on my end. The second possible road would be to develop a web page, that allows clients to log in and test out the algorithm by inputting their own data. This would definitely be the way to go -- except for a full-on business, I don't have the expertise to develop a secure, stable, and well-designed website. I would need to out-source that task. Except I don't want to outsource the implementation of the algorithm itself. I know that I could get the implementer to sign a legal document ... blah blah blah ..., but I would be much more content if I could somehow package the algorithm into a shared library of some sort that he could link to when he needs to make function calls. That way I can provide an API for him to implement with while keeping the 'real' algorithm hidden. So my question is, is there anyway to do this in web programming? Can I write a &#106avascript library, or something like that? How can I keep the algorithm well hidden to the outside, as well as developers. What security precautions should I take? What kind of permissions do I have to set on the files themselves to prevent the shared library from being used besides anything but the calling script? Assume I have absolutely zero knowledge of security. Thanks for the advice! Corey
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by visage
So my question is, is there anyway to do this in web programming? Can I write a &#106avascript library, or something like that?