Sign in to follow this  

Help on using D3DXLoadMeshHierarchyFromX

This topic is 3301 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am a beginner in DirectX programming. I have two questions (maybe more questions in the future, but for now these are the two questions I focus myself on): 1. For the structure, D3DXMESHDATA, there is a member variable that specifies the data types of the mesh, according to MSDN, the types are mesh, progressive mesh and patch mesh. I tried so hard to search for what they are, what their differences are and when each of they should be used. However, there are no information about this on the web. Please, someone answer my question. Also, why is it the case that the D3DXLoadMeshHierarchyFromX function does not have an input parameter for this information? Does it means this piece of information is responsible by the programmer when they implement the CreateMeshContainer function in the derived class of ID3DXAllocateHierarchy? In other words, does it means that this piece of information is not contained in the X file? 2. I read a tutorial on using D3DXLoadMeshHierarchyFromX function to load a mesh from a X file with the hirarchy preserved. In the tutorial, the author suggested that: quote starts[ The base D3DXMESHCONTAINER has a pMaterials member which is a D3DXMATERIAL structure that contains a texture filename and material data. It is easier to ignore this and instead store the data in arrays of created textures and materials in our derived structure (exTextures and exMaterials). struct D3DXMESHCONTAINER_EXTENDED: public D3DXMESHCONTAINER { IDirect3DTexture9** exTextures; // Array of texture pointers D3DMATERIAL9* exMaterials; // Array of materials // Skinned mesh variables ID3DXMesh* exSkinMesh; // The skin mesh D3DXMATRIX* exBoneOffsets; // The bone matrix Offsets D3DXMATRIX** exFrameCombinedMatrixPoin