Sign in to follow this  

Inputting more than one Character

This topic is 3297 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been trying to create a text-based RPG to get myself more familiar, and I am trying to get to be able to have the user input his name, but I don't know how to input more than one character. If someone can tell me how, I'd much appreciate it. Also...as a question on the side, seeing as how I'm pretty new to C++, I've always wondered - what's the use/importance of a pointer? I know it points to the address and not the value, but I don't see the use...Again, I'd appreciate it if someone told me =).

Quote:
I've been trying to create a text-based RPG to get myself more familiar, and I am trying to get to be able to have the user input his name, but I don't know how to input more than one character. If someone can tell me how, I'd much appreciate it.

You say that you're using C++ so you can use The C++ String Class.

Quoting from the link I provided:
Quote:
String I/O is easy, as strings are supported by cin.

cin>>my_string;

Quote:
what's the use/importance of a pointer? I know it points to the address and not the value, but I don't see the use

I am probably not the best person to answer about pointers, but I can say I've found them useful when trying to incorporate polymorphism and virtual member functions into my code. Edit: I guess there's also passing arguments by reference. Pointers are used in implementing different data structures. Another type of pointer is a smart pointer. Explore the Boost Library for more information about their implementation of smart pointers.

Again, I'm not an expert so I will defer that topic to the more expert members here. My advice is to just research pointers more and you will know when you need to use them as you grow as a programmer.