Sign in to follow this  

Quick questions about DirectX shader memory vs. efficiency tradeoffs.

This topic is 3297 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am an experienced C++/DirectX programmer but am new to programming DirectX HLSL shaders. I am trying to figure out how to effectively program shaders as far as memory usage vs. efficiency tradeoffs go. My concern is that these functions (shaders) are going to be called often because of the number of vertices running through them so it seems like they of all functions should be optimized. In my current vertex shader there are three pieces of information that need to be known by each vertex in addition to the per vertex data: There are many ways to supply this information to the vertices but since I am new I do not have the experience to know the proper and most effective way to supply it. For the first variable I could ... A) Supply the value in the vertex. This uses 256 verts * 150 batches * 4 bytes = 153,600 bytes of memory. The value could be found directly from the vertex. B) Set four floats in the global domain of the shader prior to each batch (150 batches) and require 4 additional conditional statements per vertex. For the second variable I could: A) Supply the value in the vertex. This uses 256 * 150 * 4 bytes = 153,600 bytes of memory. The value could be found directly from the vertex. B) Set 2 floats at intialization in the global domain of the vertex shader + Set four floats in the global domain of the shader prior to each batch (150 batches) and require 2 additional conditionals, 2 additional - operators, 2 additional * operators and 2 additional % operators per vertex. For the third variable I could: A) Supply the value in the vertex. This uses 256 * 150 * 4 bytes = 153,600 bytes of memory. The value could be found directly from the vertex. B) Set 28 floats in