Sign in to follow this  

C++ custom game engine using main() without user

This topic is 3302 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am working on a game engine that has beginners ( as if total newbs ) in mind ( but not limited to! ). It is designed to be simple to implement and simple to use. I have been showing a few people ( that I know ) the engine and wanting their input. It is also open-source. Anyway, the main() function is being used by the engine already and so is the game loop ( within the main() ) The game loop directs itself to these functions: GameUpdate(), GameDraw(), and GameLoading(). All you have to do is place your wanted game objects into GameInitialze() and make sure they are deleted withing GameKill(). No int main() required. However, one of the people I showed it to mentioned that typical game engines leave out main() for the user to place. So this is where my question begins: is it wrong to do this? Coding-wise. I personally understand where he is coming from, but I also personally don't see it as a big deal. What is your opinion on the subject? Thanks. :]

Well, it is a game engine and not designed to make tools but I'm not saying it isn't possible to do so with it. But since it is open-source and under the Zlib license, it doesn't limit you. You have the rights to modify main() to your liking. Does this still provide a hindrance?

@Sneftel:
I am not entirely sure what you are stating.

Quote:
Original post by PCN
@Sneftel:
I am not entirely sure what you are stating.
If you provide main() in your engine, you're making it extremely difficult to put the engine in a DLL, or run some other sort of startup code before invoking the engine, for the minor trade off of saving the user 4 lines of code.
If you don't provide main() as part of your engine, the only down side is that the user has to write 4 lines: