Sign in to follow this  

Class problem [C++]

This topic is 3292 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, so I'm trying to get this silly little class to work, I'm not really sure about classes yet and as far as I know it should work, but ofcourse it won't. The class is supposed to store information about height, width and length of an object and the function inside the class should produce the cubic metres of the object. Getting errors on height, width and length being undeclared aswell as cubicmetre so the error is there, but I've already declared those and tried to declare them again in several places, but nothing seems to help. As for what comes to google helping me on this I've had zero luck so far. Here's the code so far, feel free to laugh, I'm just learning this silly thing. #include <iostream> int main(void) { class cube { int length, width, height; int cubicmetre(int length,int width,int height) { int CubicMetre; CubicMetre = length * width * height; return(CubicMetre); } }; int cube; std::cout << "Enter height of the cube: " ; std::cin >> cube.height; std::cout << "Enter width of the cube: " ; std::cin >> cube.width; std::cout << "Enter length of the cube: " ; std::cin >> cube.length; std::cout << "Your cube is : " << cube.cubicmetre(length,width,height) << " Cubic metres" ; return 0; }

You haven't declared the visibility of cubes members. Since the visibility is private as default, you won't be able to access cubes members outside of the class. Declare them public instead.

But then you also declare the variable cube as an int, but what you really wanted was an instance of cube. Here is a quick tutorial about classes, which should give you a better understanding about how classes work.