Sign in to follow this  

Parallel game design - books? resources?

This topic is 3288 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I'm a college student, aiming for the game development concentration of the computer science major at my school. I've programmed some small games, read books about game development... But now that multi-core processors are out and they're the 'next big thing', I understand we need to get away from the single-core idea of a game loop, processing things in a procedural format... And so, in my RSS reader the other day I found a couple interesting links: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/3861/performance_scaling_with_cores_.php?page=1 http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/designing-the-framework-of-a-parallel-game-engine Great! Just when I'm wondering about multi-core game programming, I get exactly what I need, right? Well, these plans are complicated. They are for big-time game developers, with several engines under their belt and whatever. I can (and WILL) go through it all, digest it and get what I can out of it. But I want more. Are there any good books about this kind of thing? I mean, the university library here is huge, and the inter-library loan system basically guarantees me any book out there for free. I also have access to academic journals and such but haven't looked yet. Has anyone else seen any articles about it? Is it in one of the Game Development Gems books? (I'm working my way through them, at books 2 and 3 now). Also, what other resources? And finally, how can I begin playing with this stuff? I've been thinking about some project I could do or something. Kinda like how you start by making pong and tetris and move up from there... Maybe if I start with some sort of parallel pong or parallel tetris (or more complex, because I've already tackled those games before)... Any recommend