Sign in to follow this  

How do I 'delete' and object in C#

This topic is 3294 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to C# coming from c++ and the whole thing is driving me mad, lol I have an object that is created using ... myObject = new myObjectClass(); However I want to destroy the object at a certain point but I dont know how to delete it. In c++ this woudl be ... delete myObject; Is there a way to do this in C#? Thank you

Quote:
Original post by SelethD
I am new to C# coming from c++ and the whole thing is driving me mad, lol

I have an object that is created using ... myObject = new myObjectClass();
However I want to destroy the object at a certain point
but I dont know how to delete it.

using statement.

Ok that really doesnt make any sense to me for some reason, i think the examples are just a bit confusing.

I dont like the 'using' way, just seems so 'hack'-ish

And the other way... I only gather that by assigning the 'null' to an object allows it to be destroyed? Is that correct?

so I would just use.... myObject=null;

???

IIRC there are ways to manually tinker with the garbage collector to make it run when you want, but it's generally not recommended - the results can be unpredictable in terms of performance. The 'using' thing is just an automatic way of calling dispose on a disposable object. If a disposable object has been disposed of then it has been marked for garbage collection, but that doesn't necessarily immediately take place.