Sign in to follow this  

Video Game Estimation

This topic is 3295 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have been working for a while developing a design for a game I plan on making. I have made small games before and understand somewhat of the time and effort need to construct similar games but not the size of the purposed game. Also, I currently work in the field on web development and have a firm grasp of software estimation when it comes to web development but am having a hard time translating my knowledge to game development. My biggest problem is I have never taken on a project like this and I don't have any historical data to use. Does anyone know if industry historical data exists on the web for video game projects? I need stuff like feature size to LOC, LOC per function point and stuff relating to effort and velocity like average LOC per staff month. If anyone knows where to find information like this or even has information they would like to share it would be greatly appreciated. If nothing exists I might plan on starting a wiki for information about this subject.

Game development is too dynamic and encompassing to give you a simple metric like LOC per function or even feature, since it can cover the full gamut of low level assembly programming to high level multi-processor enterprise level development.

I can only give you what I've personally seen/experience. A full fledged modern 3D engine, developed from scratch will take about 3-5 experienced software engineers about 8-12 months, this is just for the render, shaders, basic pipeline for simple 3D data (ie static models and textures ) and scene graph, they work with tools engineers too.