Thinking about a new game

Started by
1 comment, last by jbadams 15 years, 4 months ago
Hello, my name is Dave, I'm new on this forums and I'm thinking about starting a new game. For myself I've been working with Q3 Radiant for about five years and I've also made some minor projects in the past year with 3ds max. I've released a few custom maps for some games with the Q3 editor and I'm working for a company right now. The reason for me to start this thread is that I'm thinking about starting working on a first person shooter myself. That will be my first game. My budget isn't too great but I'm able to invest a few hunderd dollars into an engine, people that are willing to make buildings and such for the Q3 editor and people that are willing to make some scripts. First, I've started thinking about an engine. I personally like 'freedom' in games in steat of being restricted to a small map. Probably the torque engine will give me the best price/quality relation in that case. Is this the right choice? Second, I've got several good idea's for games but I'm not sure which one will be best for a first game, since my budget it's too great, as I said. My idea's so far are: - zombie survival game, infection outbreak, the player is ment to survive with the help of other people for a few days/weeks. - dinosaur survival game, the player and some other people get accidentaly teleported 200 milions years back in time with a time machine and is now trying to surive while repairing the time machine. - gladiator game, the player is a gladiator in roman time and needs to survive in the arena and then escape from the roman empire. - an alien attack on earth, the player needs to survive an alien attack on earth and then attack the alien spaceship. I haven't worked out the idea's too much, but I think that the coop mode will be best to make. Singleplayer only is probably easy to crack, so that leaves coop and multiplayer. I was thinking to tweak the torque engine so that it can be played