Sign in to follow this  
rohith291991

Is my understanding of Direct3D flawed???(Warning: long post)

Hi all. Im new to this forum. Im also new to both Win32 as well as DirectX programming. I presume myself to be an intermediate level C coder with no exprience in C++ or Win32 or DirectX programming whatsoever. Its been 8 days since i started learning and so far my progress has been this: day 1: I had no clue how to start programming in windows,methods available etc. I didnt know what the hell to use to program win apps... i didnt know what terms like MFC, win32 etc meant.. so i did some researching on this. day 2: Some clarity on the different ways to program windows apps.. decided that for real clarity and understanding the win32 API would be the best for me.. so started gathering resources for Win32 programming.. created a simple messagebox. day 3: got some good tutes and finally made a basic window.. went through the code again twice and got used to handles, window processes, and OOP in general.. but some hiccups like unicode problems etc. (L,_T macros etc) but soon got over them.. day 4: after becoming confident with creating a basic Win32 App, downloaded and installed DXSDK(November 2008). then i searched for LOTS of resources on basic Direct X tutorials.. Created a basic windowed app using direct3d to clear the screen with a specified color.. (using the brilliant set of beginner tutes at www.directxtutorials.com). day 5: started proper direct 3d programming (still following the same tutes). created a simple triangle.. got used to all the new functions, the COM model, and FVF etc.. then created a cube and rendered it. learnt aabout matrix transforms, primitives, primitive types. day 6: learnt more about FVF, learnt about zbuffers, backbuffers ,created lights and set them up, learnt about different kinds of lights in d3d. ended up creating a simple scene with a lighted ,rotating cube with only diffuse colouring(no texture). made the cubes rotation user controlla