Sign in to follow this  
whiskas

is this doable?

whiskas    122
i have zero knowledge of cell phone programming but i have an idea for an application. i was wondering if it is possible to create a program that can be loaded onto cell phones and can be connected to a webserver. thus, when information is sent to my phone like a text message, i can retrieve it from a website. and im not talking about forwarding my messages or what not, i want this to happen automatically. like syncing your phone to your computer but insted it would be connected to a server so that it is centrally accessible. is their anyway to permanently connect your phone to a server like this? could it be done through wifi? any info would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

VanillaSnake21    175
You could probably do all of that through Java, which most phones run, but if you want to be connected to a server 24/7 , that's like saying you want to be connected to the internet 24/7, Which can ofcourse reflect on your phone bill. Maybe a more econoical way to do it would be to open an internet connection, transfer, and close it when you're done, but some phones ask you if you want to allow the application to connect, at wich point you have to manualy press "OK". If you're close enough to a server then you can probably use wifi at no cost. It actually depends on the OS of the phone.

whiskas    122
is this the only way to do it? is there anyway to use a webserver to intercept text messages from one person to another? i want to create a site that will house ppls text messages automatically but it cant cost to much to provide the service. like can you have your phone wirelessly synced to you computer and then have your computer upload the info? any other suggestions? btw thanks for your post vanillasnake

frob    44975