Sign in to follow this  
blimey

browser-based games

blimey    122
I'd like to develop a browser-based game. I'm not new to programming, but I've never done any game development. My interest is just hobby-based. I enjoy creative writing, and I love playing RPGs, so I wanted to try and merge the two and design my own. Does anyone have any recommendations for books/tutorials on game architecture? I've found a few sites that delve into browser game dev, but none are very detailed. The one book that caught my interest was Beginning Game Programming by Jonathan Harbour on amazon. While its mainly about development on the Windows platform, using C++ and DirectX, I wonder if its a good place to start learning the fundamentals, no matter what language or platform you eventually use. So, does anyone have any advice about that book, or any other that would be a good start? If my background might help with any response, I'm a financial software developer, mostly using Java. I've been muddling through Rails projects for the last several months as well, but again only with respect to business apps. I enjoy writing fantasy and sci fi in my spare time, and I really want to take one of my stories and craft a HoMM/Master of Magic-style turn-based game. I've chosen browser-based because I wanted to try and develop it using Rails. I know this isn't a unique idea, but again its just for a hobby, and for myself and my friends to mess around with. Anyway, Thanks for any help!

richell    122