Error when sending to clients

Started by
3 comments, last by geKingu 15 years, 4 months ago
Hey again people. I'm new to network programming and have been experimenting with code examples. I rewrote some client-server program to enable the server to send any message recieved from a client, to all other clients. Originally the server was just a listener. Anyways I've done something wrong, but I'm unsure what. The server program stops responding when it reaches this code:
//check for client activity
		for (i=0; i<MAXCLIENT; i++)
		{
			if (SDLNet_SocketReady(client))
			{
				//We have an incoming message!
				result=SDLNet_TCP_Recv(client, message, MAXLEN);

if (result <= 0)
				{
					cout << "Client " << i << " Disconnected!\n";
					client = NULL;
				}
				else 
				{
					cout << "Client " << i+1 << ": " << message << "\n";
					for (k=0; k<MAXCLIENT; k++)
					{
						if(k != i) {
							len=strlen(message)+1;
							result2=SDLNet_TCP_Send(client[k], message, len);
							if(result2 < len) cout << "Client " << k+1 << " Disconnected!\n";
						}
					}
				}

}
		}
Specifically when the server tries to send the message to all other clients. The code to recieve messages in the client, looks like this:
if (SDLNet_SocketReady(tcpsock))
		{
			//There is a message from the server!
			//Recieve it

result=SDLNet_TCP_Recv(tcpsock, message, MAXLEN);

if (result <= 0)
				{
					cout << "Server Disconnected!\n";
					exit(-1);
				}
				else 
				{
					cout << "Recieved: " << message << "\n";
				}
		}
Is there a better way for me to send messages from server to client? Should I use a seperate socket for sending and receiving? Any help would be appreciated :) ~geKingu
Advertisement
It's not at all certain that the data you receive is a full message, or that it is zero terminated. Further, sending on a socket is not necessarily guaranteed to send all the data in one go -- you may need to remember outgoing queued data on a per-client basis.