Sign in to follow this  
mickliddy

OpenGL SlimDX, MDX or OGL?

mickliddy    100
I had a look around the forums, so forgive me if Ive missed something about this already. Ive been programing in C# for the past year or so, and Ive started looking at trying my hand at building a game. However, I'm not exactly sure what which way to go. Ive heard alot of people say to use C++ instead of C#. But I already know a decent amount of C# and am comfortable with it. So, should I stick with C# or try C++? Should I try and use the OpenGL, DirectX/MDX or SlimDX?

undead    368
Take my words with a grain of salt, as I'm a C++ DirectX programmer (before using DX I was on OGL side), so I'm not into MDX/SlimDX, etc.

As for OpenGL/DirectX you can find many threads here. In the end it's up to you.

AFAIK MDX is dead, so I wouldn't suggest you to use it. SlimDX could be a better option but if you already know C#, I suggest you to have a look at XNA.

FeverGames    126
i wonder why you say he should take a look at xna. Xna isn't exactually an industry standard way of working, it is a premade sort of engine in which a lot is not possible because it is based on development for the 360, and secondary for the PC.

so i do not agree that XNA is better if you already have knowledge of C# over SlimDX, i'd rather take the opposite. If you have little knowledge of C# XNa is great to get lots done in notime, but SlimDX gives you way more freedom because it has nothing premade, except the fact that you can do all the DX calls like is done in C++.

but thats my word.

Evil Steve    2017
I'd suggest sticking with C# and learning XNA too.

C# is perfectly fine for game development, although it's limited to Microsoft platforms. C++ is still the main language used in the industry, but it's best to learn one thing at a time and learn XNA, then look at C++ if you want.

And if you're a C# person, you'll most likely be comfortable with XNA/DirectX than with OpenGL.

dilyan_rusev    1360