moving player model

Started by
7 comments, last by RandomCode 15 years, 3 months ago
Hi there, This is my first post on these forums so hopefully I posted at the right place. I recently started programming with Managed DirectX and its been fun till I got stuck >_> Alright, so I got 2 meshes rendered on (0,0,0). 1 is supposed to be the floor and the other is the player that I want to move around on the floor. Now I've read somewhere that the best way of doing this is to actually rotate and move the floor. So I've got the camera pointed at (0,0,0) which is the location of the player and the floor. First I draw the floor with:

device.Transform.World = Matrix.RotationY(angle) * Matrix.Translation(position);
floor.DrawSubset(0); 
And then the player with:

device.Transform.World = Matrix.Translation(0,0,0);
mesh1.DrawSubset(0);
When I press A or D I increment or decrement the angle and use W and Z to move forward and backwards by incremented or decrementing the position's Z value. The problem is that I want the floor to rotate around the player's position, but it always rotates around the origin (0,0,0). I can move the player around, but it's a pain since the rotation of the floor is all wrong somehow. I'm probably doing lots of things wrong. And I'm not sure where to look for a solution. I would just appreciate a push in the right direction. Thanks in advance! [Edited by - RandomCode on December 21, 2008 8:28:04 AM]
Advertisement
Quote:Now I've read somewhere that the best way of doing this is to actually rotate and move the floor.
Not really. Where did you read this?

If you want to move the player, move the player. If the floor does not move, just give it a fixed transform. In other words, if the goal is to move the player around on the floor, you should be modifying the player's transform, not the floor's.

Does that help at all?