• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
AlexFZ

Moving a cursor with SDL (Begininner issue)

This topic is 3563 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I'm just starting out with SDL. I'm trying to make a clone of a standard RPG battle system just to learn SDL better. I have everything working, except I cannot get the cursor to move up and down when you press the up and down arrow keys. This is my code so far: (only relevant parts)
SDL_Surface* cursor = NULL;
struct CursorPos {
	int x;
	int y;
};

cursor = loadImage("cursor.jpg");
applySurface(7, 447, cursor, screen);
CursorPos cursorPos;
cursorPos.x = 7;
cursorPos.y = 447;

// While the user hasn't quit...
	while ( !quit ) {
		// Keep getting event data while there's a queue
		while( SDL_PollEvent( &event ) )  {
			// If a key is pressed
			if (event.type == SDL_KEYDOWN) {
				switch (event.key.keysym.sym) {
				case SDLK_UP:
					// Can we go up?
					if (cursorPos.y != 447) {
						SDL_FreeSurface(cursor);
						cursorPos.y -= 30;
						applySurface(cursorPos.x, cursorPos.y, cursor, screen);
					}
					break;
				case SDLK_DOWN:
					// Can we go up?
					if (cursorPos.y != 327) {
						SDL_FreeSurface(cursor);
						cursorPos.y += 30;
					}
					break;
				}
				SDL_Flip(screen);
			}
			// If the user quits
			else if (event.type == SDL_QUIT) {
				quit = true;
			}

}
	}
Obviously the problem is that the old cursor surface stays intact when the cursor moves up or down. I tried SDL_FreeSurface to get rid of it, but this causes errors (I'm guessing it deletes the pointer?). Is there a way I can get rid of the old cursor image before creating the new one? Or just move the current one to a new location? Any help would be much appreciated :)

Advertisement
Don't free the surface; you don't need a new surface for every time you move a object.