• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Error handling

This topic is 3346 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, How are errors usually handled in game functions? I have just started with C++ to make some small games. Although I have learned a little C++ in the past, I'm a Java developer professionally, so am used to using exceptions. I see DirectX mostly uses the HRESULT error handling used by the COM api. Do your own functions usually handle errors in this way also, or do you normally use exceptions, introducing a mixture of methods which could cause confusion. If you use HRESULT, what is the best way to structure the return value so that you can return custom error results in a meaningful way?

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by rakketh
How are errors usually handled in game functions?

I have just started with C++ to make some small games. Although I have learned a little C++ in the past, I'm a Java developer professionally, so am used to using exceptions.

I see DirectX mostly uses the HRESULT error handling used by the COM api. Do your own functions usually handle errors in this way also, or do you normally use exceptions, introducing a mixture of methods which could cause confusion.

If you use HRESULT, what is the best way to structure the return value so that you can return custom error results in a meaningful way?
I use exceptions almost exclusively for error handling. If a library (such as DirectX) uses return codes instead, I check them at the calling location, and throw an exception, including any relevant error details, and the error code - which unifies everything in the end. However, almost none of my exceptions are caught until they reach the outer level, and the program terminates - most of the errors from those APIs are pretty fatal to your program.