• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
G24UK

2D Game with DX9 SDK

This topic is 3453 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello to all gamedev members. Firstly, I wish Merry Xmas and New Year to everyone! I am a beginner with C++. I would like to build a little 2D game with DX9 SDK(Aug07). I am limited to this version as it is the requirement for the project. It will be a simple space shooter sim with some nice sounds and sprites and ideally user scoreboards. This is my first game project. May I ask your advice and tips for writing this game, i.e. good places for 2D DX tutorials or tips for setting up DX for this kind of project or any information that you experienced programmers think will be useful to me. I am using Vista/VS2005 Pro and TortoiseSVN along with the mentioned SDK. Thank you in advance :) G

Advertisement
For a free, online tutorial I really liked www.directxtutorial.com. It spends a lot of time on 3d graphics which you may want to skip, but has enough on sprites and input to get you going.

Don't go to directxtutorials.com. It's just a good way to guarantee that you'll be back here making threads about the problems caused by the bad programming habits that site will teach you.

Evil Steve is working on a series of tutorials aimed at the same crowd as directxtutorials.com, but he's only finished the first one so far. It's up on his dev journal.

Toymaker has some tutorials that includes using the 2D sprite functionality, and they're at least a bit better than what's on directxtutorials.

Thanks for the replies. I have spent the last couple of hours browsing directxtutorials.com. It seems pretty straight forward and well organised. It will be useful to me hopefully. Just wish all of the lessons were free...