• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

[resolved] Limits for graphics (md3 inside).

This topic is 3408 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm a novice in game graphics actually... I've been enrolled on an online game in which the programmation is near it's end and I'm the only graphist for the moment. The lead programmer (he's also the team's leader) asked me to begin creating some trees... to export with md3 format. The engine can handle a lot of polygons, but he didn't give me a lot of informations on how much polys I should use for each one. He wont connect since saturday - my first limit (at least the first sample tree must be ready for tests). I just now there'll be forests made from these. I also must export them in .md3, and i have difficulties to find it's limits too (i don't have good sources). I just'd like to know how much tris i should use per tree please (mostly for broadleaf trees) ? Thanks in advance. [Edited by - Valerien on December 25, 2008 10:21:35 AM]

Advertisement
In the end, a 3d model for a game is just a series of planes to display texture data. You can get by with nice leaf textures. Use as many polygons as you need to define the basic shape/silhouette of the tree and no more.

You should find out more about the scene setup and then adjust the non test models to suit it. If you are rendering out a forest, it's best to have lower quality models to render out distant trees.

Quote:
Original post by Valerien
I just'd like to know how much tris i should use per tree please (mostly for broadleaf trees) ?

Unfortunately that is impossible to say. It entirely depends on the engine, and variations can be huge depending on how advanced the engine is. In fact, it is not so much about how many polygons an engine can handle. It's about what kind of LOD (level of detail) system it is using.