• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Funkymunky

Segmentation Fault

This topic is 3581 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I just got an Asus EEE PC 2G surf. I decided to try a little SDL programming, so after learning about repositories and getting the -dev branch of the libsdl stuff, i wrote a barebones program which calls SDL_Init and SDL_Quit. It gives a "Segmentation Fault" error on SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_VIDEO). Everything else (except of course SDL_INIT_EVERYTHING) returns 0, but that has an error before it even returns. I'm brand new to this. Can anyone offer me any assistance?

Advertisement
anyone? I'm compiling it like this:

g++ -o MyProgram main.c -lSDL

but it still just gives a Segmentation Fault before it even returns from SDL_Init. Other programs, that I did not write, can succesfully use SDL. Can anyone point me in any kind of direction as to how to get started with this library?

Quote:
Original post by Funkymunky
anyone? I'm compiling it like this:

g++ -o MyProgram main.c -lSDL

but it still just gives a Segmentation Fault before it even returns from SDL_Init. Other programs, that I did not write, can succesfully use SDL. Can anyone point me in any kind of direction as to how to get started with this library?

Try g++ -o MyProgram main.c `sdl-config --cflags --libs` (note: these are backticks, not single quotes). This is assuming the sdl-config script is in your path. If that doesn't help, please try posting the full source code, or a minimal example that displays this behaviour.

Also, while the compiler should definitely not care, ".c" extensions are typically used for C source code, not C++. C++ source code files often have one of the following extensions: .cc, .C (note: uppercase, often found on case sensitive file systems), .cxx, .cpp.

sure. i tried with your line, still the same behaviour.