Sign in to follow this  

How to accomplish my goal? (small Client/Server based online game)

This topic is 3308 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've written an addictive little pen and paper RPG, and over the years it is growing quite complex. In order for it to expand, the Dungeon Master must be replaced by a server, and allow simultaneously 60-100 players in a persistent world. The problem? I am not an expert programmer. I've coded Hello World, Tic Tac Toe, and Hangman on the computer. In order to continue growth of my game, I've visioned isometric 2d client, with a server that will handle the data/math/communication between players. I would like to know, what must I learn to accomplish this goal in a reasonable time? One man here, with very little knowledge of programming. Please, any feedback would be helpful.

Something I have considered and might work with you as I don't think your as insane as I am with the scale. (I want a world that the players can create all things and has a scale of 3ft per movement cell...with a planet the size of earth, which equates to impossible as far as this method is concerned)

What you can do is create a really basic tile set and use a HTML table scripted with PHP so that it interacts with MySQL via forms. That is really easy and for a table top RPG can be designed pretty much on a 1to1 basis.

Though the biggest problem i had with this is to decide how fast "turns" go by as if it is a persistent world of any sort you have to decide how long a person has to decide what they want and how much they can do and ut can be a little bit unfair.

Quote:
I've written an addictive little pen and paper RPG, and over the years it is growing quite complex.

Sounds good; congrats for that.
Quote: