• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
nkoplm

code structure / program design tutorials?

This topic is 3462 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I want to try my hand at game programing. I am new to developing games, but not programing in general. I am one semester away from graduating with a Bachelors degree in computer science. I know languages, and libraries and IDEs and SDKs and all that sort of stuff quite well. I have seen many applications from inception through to completion before. What I am stuck on is how to structure my code. what classes should I have, and how do they interact. Are there any good software engineering types of tutorials out there that can give me a starting point on how to lay out my program? Thanks in advance :)

Advertisement
Check the "Resources" link at the top. You'll find lots of what you want in there. Particular the Game Programming section. Most people will probably refer you to the Engineuity Article.

"Engine" development is a rather complex issue and there isn't any perfect solution. Like many things, there's pros and cons for different approaches. It also depends on the game you want to develop. A 3D first-person game has different demands than a 2D platform adventure. Even the adventure game needs much more than a puzzle game, for example. Different styles of games often require different engine solutions, so an easy answer to your question is not possible.