• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
grumpymonkey

Dreamcast Programming?

This topic is 3628 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, im new to these forums, but not to the site. i havent made an account before, but i have found answers to some of my questions when googling :P If im not supposed to post this type of question here, or at all, then sorry but im kinda in a rush and i didnt have time to read the rules =[ ive been programming for 3 years with gamemaker, and i just started using C++ a few months ago, but it was too hard for me to make 3D games, which is the whole reason i moved on >.< and since the dreamcast is the oldest system i have that supports REAL 3D games, not snes 3d games, i decided i wanted to chose that console to make games for..mostly because it uses regular CD's that do not need a copy protection thing. idk if it will be harder than more up-to-date consoles since technology wasnt always what it is today, but its the only one i can use. im not asking for a tutorial(UNLESS YOU HAVE ONE! :P), but i just want to know how i can get started with making console games, preferably dreamcast.

Advertisement
As far as I know, there is no simple way to build games for the dreamcast. If there is, it is likely a homebrew solution, meaning it will probably be more complex than anything you can imagine. If you want to start building 3D games, you should do it on a PC. At this point, there are NO open platform consoles, meaning that programming for them will require elite computer engineering skills or a $25,000 development kit. Start with OpenGL or DirectX. I recommend DirectX if you use Windows, but if you use a Mac, Linux, or BSD, you need OpenGL.

Honestly, if you have difficulty developing a 3d game on a PC adding an additional level of indirection is not going to help solve anything.