• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ICUP

Digipen or CS at a University?

This topic is 3547 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I know that this thread topic has been beaten to death but wanted some advice since my situation is slightly different. I've been teaching myself programming (C++) since high school. When I graduated HS, I attended college with the intent to major in CS. I did start off but I had a weak foundation in math so I just gave up and decided to major in sociology which was a major I found interest in during college. I finished university with a B.A. in Sociology just last June '08 with a great GPA. I thought I wanted to get into social work but my heart has changed. I'm currently in a limbo and am just deciding what to do next. I'm thinking of going back to my first passion which is computer science. When I was intending to major in CS at the beginning of my college career, I wanted to do so because I wanted to be a game developer. So, since I'm thinking of going back I was wondering if I should go back to a traditional university or go to a more specialized school like Digipen. The thing that I'm worried about with Digipen is that if I eventually want to get out of making games, will I have skills to go into other areas of computer science? Should I just go to a traditional university for CS? Also, I've heard most recommend that you should attend university so that you grow more "wholly". Do they mean within computer science as a field or because you are exposed to different things besides computer science? Since I already have a Bachelors in Sociology I'm wondering if going to Digipen is better if it's the latter.

Advertisement