• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
-Uchiha-

Help Needed!

This topic is 3454 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi !! I am looking to develop a 3d game FPS or a RTS for my college project.I am new to game programming. Will i be able to create to create a demo within 3 months There are 3 of us and can afford around 7 to 8 hours a day. we know c++ programming.we r in final year of post graduation in soft development. Even 1 or 2 stages in game is enough I dont need eyecandy graphics and the main emphasis of our project is programming Can i build the game demo from a scratch including game engine ? r there free graphic models we can use for our game. If i use a game engine wat programming task do i have to do? If u can plz suggest where to start and a list of free tools we will need to develop Thnks in advance ^_^

Advertisement
Have any of you done 3d programming before? If not I'd suggest you actually try graphics programming before deciding to make a 3d game.

Also to what degree do you know C++? I know C++, but so does Bjarne Stroustrup, one of us knows it a lot better than the other. Are you all comfortable with classes, stl, pointers, namespaces, templates?

You're shooting over your head, did you choose this project yourself? If so, go back to your supervisor and downsize it.

How well do you actually know C++? Do you know any actual 3D graphics theory and implementation using it?

Quote:
Original post by -Uchiha-
Can i build the game demo from a scratch including game engine ? r there free graphic models we can use for our game. If i use a game engine wat programming
task do i have to do?

I'm sorry, but if you can't answer basic questions like that for yourself then I really, hand on heart, don't think you're capable of this project. I strongly suggest choosing another project if it's possible to.