• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
cosmiK

My story and path to my dream games... Can you help w questions/concerns?

This topic is 3453 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey there everyone, Wanted to start by introducing myself... well what is relevant to this post anyway! I am an aspiring game programmer, plain and simple. I started with Qbasic back in the day, and then stopped. Just recently, about a month ago I decided to learn the language that I always wanted to learn, C++. I am almost done "Thomson - Beginning C++ Game Programming". I've just started learning classes. I've also done a handful of tutorials using Allegro and have since been able to make a simple pong game(more on that in a bit), a very simple tile based 'game', and some other text based games - tic tac toe i believe. I've also looked in to C#, as well as DarkBasic but really want to focus on C++. I know that you have probably heard many people who are just beginning learning ask how to make the next MMO or such ... BUT my goals/dreams even though large, are not that big and are 'fair': My 2 major goals are 2D and 3D. For 2D, it is Mario / Platformer game... perhaps something resembling the NES/SNES Mario, or Sonic for the genesis. Or elements of Contra or other projectile based and colorful platformers. For my 3D aspiraitons it would also have to be something like super mario 64 or even dragon valor for the ps1... not much in graphics... but very fun and colorful and creative. I think I want to be well on my way writing 2D games before I move on to 3D... ( so I will not post on that till i'm comfortable with 3d). So I have couple of requests and questions for all of you out there who are above and beyond my level, or even in a completely other dimension. I will start with the more specific questions, and concerns I have, and hopefully some of you can