• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
MrFiber

Introducing a C++ multicore task library

This topic is 3445 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm not a game developer but maybe the library I wrote can be helpful in programming scalable games for multicore processors. A short description: The library provides a multithreaded task scheduler using a thread pool where all tasks are executed on fibers. Fibers are the key feature because fibers can block without blocking the thread. If you're familiar with fibers, you know that it's a pain programming them. Here, this is not the case because all about fibers is encapsulated in the library. Instead, the library contains header files with user-mode lock-free implementations of fiber synchronization primitives like CriticalSection, Event or Semaphore that you can use to block your task. That said, you can write a task as if you were writing a thread but without overhead. When a task blocks, the scheduler immediately starts/resumes another task in order to keep the thread busy. The library is still under development. You can get more information at http://www.fiberpool.de/en/index.html I'd be grateful for any comments and feedback MrFiber

Advertisement
Quote:
A task scheduler for multiprocessor systems
(this method is patent pending)

I was under impression that EU put a ban on software patents.

Threads.

Quote: