• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

GameDev Writing for Newbies

This topic is 3296 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, everyone. I'm new in the GameDev community, and I'm an aspiring video game scriptwriter (preferably for plot and/or character development). I've been gaming virtually my entire life, and I'm fairly knowledgeable about the industry, but I'm pretty green as far as game writing goes. Does anyone know any good resources I can utilize while I'm just getting started? Thanks.

Advertisement
I'm no professional by any means when it comes to writing for games but I can give you advice based on a consumer view point. When I read or hear a story in any game I want it to be very involving, something that's going to make you want to keep moving forward to know what happens next! Very much like the Metal Gear Solid series, very well known for their movie like experience. Cliff hangers in stories are a great way to keep gamers thriving for more story, assuming it's a good story to begin with. You must, have some sense of emotion with every character and a distinctive personality.

What I would suggest if you're not a programmer. Get Game Maker, learn it well. It's very basic to use and understand. Then write your story up and start making games using your talent of writing. Move your way up from there, join teams as a writer using your games for reference, ect...

Best of luck!

If you are an aspiring game writer than you need to work on getting a writing degree and finding projects that need writers to donate your time to. Use experience with indie teams to show that you can work within groups and write for a game, not just yourself. School projects will help in demonstrating this as well.