• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

VBSP Map file rendering

This topic is 3387 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello , I recently started working on implementing maps into my engine and I chose using the Valve bsp format used in Half-life2 DM. (I'm using D3D9) Anyway , I managed to write something that loads the map nicely the only problem is that it renders perfectly only with Line-list primitive type. The cause is basicly because how the vertex indices are saved in the VBSP file , instead of a triangle(3 vert indices) it is saved as a line(2 vert indices), a face is a quad that can be consturcted from a various number of lines. There are for example faces that are constructed from 6 lines , 5 lines , 4 lines and so forth. This is problematic because as far as I know (I'm fairly new to D3D) to get a solid primitive you must have an array of triangles and not lines. So what I ask is , is there a way to somehow fill the line-made quads with something , or if someone worked with this format before could give me some tips on how to convert a randomed lined-quad to 2 triangles.

Advertisement
Unfortunately I don't have any solution to offer, but a few comments instead...

You are correct that to get a solid primitive you must use triangles - these are either in fan, strip or list form, but ultimately it must be a triangle of 3 vertices. Points, lines and triangles are the only things D3D knows how to render.

BSP trees were really nice in the old days, but they mostly suck for any hardware in the last 5 or so years. They're far too "involved" for efficient GPU rendering - the geometry manipulation of splitting/combining and potentially large number of draw calls just aren't efficient anymore. This algorithm really needs to stay with the rasterization-only hardware or the pure CPU software renderers.