• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
utdrmac

New to VS2008: How do I compile static and distribute?

This topic is 3566 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all, I'm quite new to VS2008 so please bear with me. I've created a new solution and added two projects. The first one is a library needed by the second project. Both compile just fine and run just fine, except when I move the .exe and the .dll into another location on my machine or move to another machine. The OS complains about not being able to find MSVCR90.dll. Why do I need this .DLL? Will I have to install this .DLL on every single machine I want to distribute my app to? I know about that VS2008 Redistributable Package thing and it is quite unacceptable/unrealistic to have that as a requirement. How can I, basically, compile everything I need into this one .exe? On linux this is called static linking. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of other C-based apps written for Windows that don't require this special .DLL so why does mine? Many thanks!

Advertisement
You need it because you compiled the program with Visual Studio, that's one of the downsides to using it; you need special runtime libraries.

You cannot statically link them as 1) they are not available as static libraries and 2) even if they were it would be against Microsoft's license (not 100% sure about this one though).

Edit: Ignore my post

@Homersp: Absolute nonsense!

They are available as static libraries and you are allowed to ship the static runtime with your executables/dlls. The question is whether you want to.

To switch the the static runtime, open project settings, go to C/C++, then to "Code Generation" and switch the runtime to "Multithreaded" for your "Release" configuration and to "Multithreaded Debug" for your "Debug" configuration.